Duck Duck Book


18 – poultry house
05.17.2005, 12:03 am
Filed under: technology

Poultry house construction / by Michael Roberts ; edited by Sara Roadnight ; photographs and illustrations by Michael Roberts.
Kennerleigh : Domestic Fowl Research, c1997.
[MCL call number: 690.892 R646p 1997; 12 copies, no holds]

I don’t have chickens, so I don’t have any real need for this book. But I wish I had chickens, and so I do have a real desire to read books like this. Perhaps you share this desire, or maybe you even have some poultry who need new buildings? If so, read on.

The cover of Poultry House Construction includes a subtitle which I think explains the book’s contents well: “A D.I.Y. guide to building poultry houses and allied equipment.” (This isn’t in the citation above because it’s not on the title page — I’m a librarian and have been trained to believe the title page is more authoritative than the cover. But in this case, I like what the cover says.)

The book is a clear and practical guide to safe, comfortable, well-built enclosures for chickens, geese, ducks, and even rabbits. The designs include attention to outdoor and indoor living space, nesting boxes, windows and light, poultry egress, fox proofing, and more. There are plans for all sizes of structures, from nesting boxes you can add to your existing chicken house to the roomy 10-Hen House. The plans are clear, the instructions make sense as far as I’ve taken them (remember, I just looked at the book; I haven’t built any of the houses!), and there are photographs of each finished project.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

