Duck Duck Book


Other Reviews

While at my job, I write for the library’s blog, Furthermore.  My work there is more like annotations than reviews; my recommendations are less critical, more enthusiastic, and far briefer than the work I publish here in Duck Duck Book.

From 2006 to 2009 I wrote brief reviews for Library Journal, a professional magazine for librarians. My reviews were for books in the social sciences and gardening books, and they were short (usually about 175 words). Only a few of the reviews are available for free online, but in case any of my readers here are curious about how I write for a professional audience, here is a list of my reviews in Library Journal.

The Rat That Got Away: A Bronx Memoir, by Allen Jones & Mark Naison (New York: Fordham University Press, 2009).  Reviewed in LJ 1 November 2009.

The House at the End of the Road: The Story of Three Generations of an Interracial Family in the American South, by Ralph W. Eubanks (New York: Smithsonian Books, c2009).  Reviewed in LJ 1 August 2009.

Pedaling Revolution: How Cyclists are Changing American Cities, by Jeff Mapes (Corvallis: Oregon State University Press, 2009).  Reviewed in LJ 1 March 2009.

Freedom by Any Means: Con Games, Voodoo Schemes, True Love and Lawsuits on the Underground Railroad, by Betty DeRamus (New York: Atria Books, 2009).  Reviewed in LJ 30 January 2009, Xpress Reviews.

In Search of Our Roots: How 19 Extraordinary Americans Reclaimed Their Past, by Henry Louis Gates, Jr. (New York: Crown Publishers, c2009). Reviewed in LJ 15 January 2009.

Hubert Harrison: The Voice of Harlem Radicalism, 1883-1918, by Jeffrey B. Perry (New York: Columbia University Press, 2008).  Reviewed in LJ 15 November 2008.

Community Gardening, edited by Ellen Kirby and Elizabeth Peters (Brooklyn, NY : Brooklyn Botanic Garden, c2008).  Reviewed in LJ 1 September 2008.

Guide to Water, Guerrilla Graywater Girls (Oakland, CA: Guerrilla Graywater Girls, 2001).  Reviewed in “Zines” column, edited by Jenna Freedman,  LJ 1 September 2008.

First Stop in the New World : Mexico City, the Capital of the 21st Century, by David Lida (Riverhead: Penguin Group, 2008).  Reviewed in LJ 27 May 2008, Xpress Reviews.

On Guerrilla Gardening: A Handbook for Gardening Without Boundaries, by Richard Reynolds (London : Bloomsbury, 2008). Reviewed in LJ 1 May 2008.

Inheriting the Trade: A Northern Family Confronts Its Legacy as the Largest Slave-Trading Dynasty in U.S. History, by Thomas Norman DeWolf (Boston : Beacon Press, 2008). Reviewed in LJ 1 January 2008.

The Great Neighborhood Book: A Do-It-Yourself Guide to Placemaking, by Jay Walljasper (Gabriola Island, B.C. : New Society Publishers, 2007). Reviewed in LJ 1 October 2007.

Venetian Gardens, by Mariagrazia Dammicco (Paris : Flammirion, distributed by Rizzoli, 2007). Reviewed in LJ 1 May 2007.

Dear Self : A Year in the Life of a Welfare Mother, by Richelene Mitchell (Haywayrd, CA : NID, 2007). Reviewed in LJ 1 April 2007.

The N Word : Who Can Say it, Who Shouldn’t, and Why, by Jabari Asim (Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 2007). Reviewed in LJ 1 March 2007.

The All-in-One Garden : Grow Vegetables, Fruit, Herbs and Flowers in the Same Plot, by Graham Rice (London : Cassell Illustrated, 2006). Reviewed in LJ 15 December 2006.

The Radical and the Republican : Frederick Douglass, Abraham Lincoln, and the Triumph of Antislavery Politics, by James Oakes (New York, W.W. Norton & Co., 2007). Reviewed in LJ 1 November 2006.

Encyclopedia of the Great Black Migration, edited by Steven A. Reich (Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2006). Reviewed in LJ 15 October, 2006.

Waiting ‘Til the Midnight Hour: A Narrative History of Black Power in America, by Peniel E. Joseph (New York : Henry Holt and Co., 2006). Reviewed in LJ 1 July 2006

Simon Bolivar: A Life, by John Lynch (New Haven : Yale University Press, 2006). Reviewed in LJ 1 June 2006.

Inherit the Land : Jim Crow Meets Miss Maggie’s Will, by Gene Stowe (Jackson : University Press of Mississippi, 2006). Reviewed in LJ 15 May 2006.

Peoples of the Plateau : The Indian Photographs of Lee Moorhouse, 1898-1915, by Steven L. Grafe (Norman : University of Oklahoma Press, c2005). Reviewed in LJ 14 March 2006, Xpress Reviews.

 








%d bloggers like this: